WIOA: What It Means for People with Disabilities

The Workforce Investment and Opportunity Act (WIOA) was passed this past July. This law replaces the Workforce Investment Act, and among other things, reauthorizes the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. This webinar will provide a general overview of WIOA and its impact on the public Vocational Rehabilitation system and service providers. Topics discussed will include: the job-driven focus of WIOA and what that means; new responsibilities for VR regarding transition; the impact of new sub-minimum wage restrictions; increased expectations of the general workforce system in terms of meeting the needs of youth and adults with disabilities; and the potential impact of changes in performance measures for VR. Included in the discussion will be opportunities for becoming involved and influencing the implementation of WIOA.

Objectives:

Upon completion of this webinar, participants will be able to

  1. Understand the core provisions of WIOA
  2. Understand the changes that will result from WIOA implementation
  3. Understand the opportunities available to become involved and influence WIOA implementation

Presenter:

David Hoff, M.S.W., is a Project Director for the Institute for Community Inclusion at the University of Massachusetts Boston. David is also the Past President of National APSE, and Co-Chair of the APSE Public Policy Committee. A primary focus of his work is on organizational and systems change to improve employment outcomes, with a particular emphasis on public policies and their impact on the lives of people with disabilities. In addition to his 17 years at ICI, David has been an administrator for a Local Workforce Investment Board, and also spent several years in a direct service role, assisting individuals with disabilities to find and maintain employment. Prior to entering the human service field, he spent ten years in management roles in the private sector. David has a Master’s in Social Work from Rutgers University, with a concentration in Administration, Policy and Planning, and is also a graduate of Cornell University.

 

Date:   Monday January 26, 2015

Time:  12:00 PM EST  -  11:00 AM  CST  -  10:00 AM  MST  -   9:00 AM PST

Fee:  This is a free event for ACRE members.  To register, go to https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3524712484305592833